One down…

So I have finished my first garment of the year!! 🙂

Orange skirt

Usually when I make an A-line skirt I just knock something up. However 2013 is the year I am TRYING TO SEW BETTER so I thought I’d do it properly!

I brought several sewing books at Christmas (I love books, don’y you!) and the pattern from this book came from Stitch by Stitch by Deborah Moebes. Its a simple A-line with two front pockets.I found the book good, lots of pretty pictures and the instructions were pretty clear as well.

 

The fabric is a heavy cotton that I brought a couple of years ago and not done anything with yet.

I’m not 100% happy with it – the zip isn’t that tidy, but hey it was my first invisible zip so I’m pretty pleased overall. If I made it again the only thing I would change would be to make it a bit longer – its shorter than I would usually wear.

Here are some more photos….

Whole view     Side view   Front

See you soon!

4 thoughts on “One down…

  1. Pingback: My new wool skirt… | Thanks! I made this myself!

  2. Pingback: Wow… halfway through 2013 | Thanks! I made this myself!

  3. Pingback: Me-Made-May update 1 | Thanks! I made this myself!

  4. Pingback: Thanks! I made this myself!

Leave a Reply

