Capering through the month!

Firstly, apologies for the random post about my step count the other day – I’d been trying to make something else work and thought it hadn’t, but it had, kinda… sorry!!! (and how I wish the step count had been something impressive!)

So… we are the end of August. Wowee this year is speeding by huh! I still have many things to blog about, but I assure you that I haven’t had time to be blogging as I have been sewing. Like a busy sewing thing!

But there were the monthly challenges that I need to blog about before the month ends (I’m hoping it will be ok to put up the photos of my Sew Weekly Reunion outfit tomorrow… it will still be August in the rest of the world – one good thing about living in NZ!

So today, as promised is my Peppermint Capelet, made for the first Monthly Stitch Challenge. This is a free pattern from Peppermint Magazine  and it super easy to make. I’d fallen in love with burgandy fur I’d found on the last day of the Fabric Warehouse sale and paired with some silk satin lining, is the most glamorous thing I have ever made. It just feels amazing – let alone how good it looks.

tracing

This was quick to cut out – I just traced the pattern on the back of the fur and cut it out with my rotary cutter. The cutting was easy – the cleaning up however…!

pattern piece

mess everywhere...

mess everywhere…

I did trim the edges of the fur to make it easier to sew, and someone told me that you can use hairspray on the edges to reduce the mess. I will try this next time as I have so much fabric left I plan to make a teddy bear out of it – its just to stroke-able to throw away!!!

Even with being lined the construction of this is so easy there’s not much to say 🙂  great instructions that I followed til I got to the binding and then I made it up. Its fastened with a diamante button and now its all ready to wear to a night at the opera!

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The one issue I found was that the lining was a bit big and peeped over the front… I found the same with a jacket I made this month and I wonder if there’s something I’m doing wrong. I fixed this one by kinda pleating it in the inside… its not perfect but not really noticeable and will do fine.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

For lots of other capes, check out The Monthly Stitch blog for inspiration!

So folks… til tomorrow!! have a great weekend

10 thoughts on “Capering through the month!

  1. Very cute cape!! I can’t believe how much ‘fluff’ it generated. I just completed and blogged my cape for the challenge as well. So exciting as I’ve always wanted a cape and never had one.

  2. Pingback: An overdue Wedding Post… | Thanks! I made this myself!

Leave a Reply

