Blocked Cross stitch

though I have been light on sewing output, I have been doing cross stitch. My latest is all done, mounted and up on the wall.

all done

This isn’t my usual style but I loved it as soon as I saw it! The colours are gorgeous and so vibrant. And as the blocks are so small I felt like I was getting somewhere every time I finished – unlike other cross stitches that seem to go nowhere for a looong long time!

I mounted this one as recommended in the magazine it came from, but the finished size was slightly smaller than it should be so it didn’t fit the block mount exactly. As a result I just couldn’t get all the lines straight – which, as this cross stitch is ALL lines, is very frustrating.

But I am learning that good enough is good enough. The only way to get this straighter would be to get it done professionally and I figure I can always do that in the future if it continues to bother me…

I do really love this and its already up on the front room wall. Another project done. (and from a distance you can’t see the wonky lines at all!!)

all done and on the wall

11 thoughts on “Blocked Cross stitch

Leave a Reply

