Seamworks Mesa on a chilly day…

The original...
The original…

The outfit to the left has spawned four clothing pieces… so far…. it comes from episode 1 of Scream the Tv series…. (yep I’m a teenager at heart!) and I just fell in love with this skirt. Totally different from anything I’ve ever worn, let alone made, but I drooled over it. And it refused to leave my mind. The website wornontv.com informs me that this skirt comes from Topshop (can’t find it of course). But I was never going to buy it was I…

Soon after this episode, Kat, fellow Wellington sewing blogger, asked if anyone wanted to pitch in for a purchase from Fabric.com? Spoiler alert – between the group we brought A LOT of fabric.

I got this one… to make a Seamworks Mesa out of… (more of this fabric soon)

Large_0395122And this Scuba knit to make my Scream tribal skirt.. (now sold out)

hkjh

When the fabric arrived however the tribal print was much bigger than I expected. How big?

Close?Hmmm… And I had more fabric than I needed to make a skirt. And as a result I just caved and made a Mesa out of it… wearable muslin yes?

IMG_5510I’ve subscribed to Seamworks since it started. Some months are great and others are a but of a miss for me, but the Mesa I like – simple cut and knit so therefore easy right?

Confession I’ve never actually made a shift dress before. I don’t actually think I’ve ever worn one. So here we have a) a new style and b) a patterned fabric and c) fabric like nothing in my wardrobe. I guess I was feeling courageous!

I was hoping to share my fantastic pattern matching with this make. I marked the pattern pieces with the stripes and when I basted it together I got perfect lines all around my body. When I pinned and stitched however it was a fail. And as this is a thick scuba knit unpicking proved un-achievable. I did try, honest, but after stabbing myself, deeply, with my trusty quick unpick/seam ripper I gave it up as a lost cause.

Other than the line matching fail, this dress went together really easily. I added 5″ to the length before cutting out, but after trying the finished garment on it looked frumpy at that length so I took 3″ off. Now of course it’s a smidgen short but it works well with tights! And given the fabric is polyester its more of a cooler wear really.

IMG_5530I like this dress. It’s way out of my comfort zone, and I get lots of comments on it whenever I’ve worn it. The only issue I have is the neckline. It looks fine, if a little bit wide, with nothing on top, but add a jacket or cardigan and it’s too big and gapes a bit

IMG_5541
Not impressed….
IMG_5506
Gape gape gape…

I’ve had this on a couple of makes lately. I’m not sure if I need to cut smaller at the neckline, or I could be stretching the neck band too much,but its also happened on woven fabrics. Others have talked about the neckline being a smidge too big so maybe its not me. Next time I make this one I will add 1″ to each shoulder and see what that does!

But I do really like this dress. I love the pattern – not so sure with the scuba knit, I noticed a slight pilling across the front today which is annoying. Maybe it doesn’t like flying foxes?

IMG_5449

Add a jacket and its great for work. Here’s to more work dresses in the future…

So the fabric I brought for the skirt off the tv? I made a dress. Pretty good compromise I think.

Have a great week all!

5 comments

    • Hmmm… hollow chest – I’ll have a look at that. I did take the sleeves in an inch each side for my second mesa and reshaped the neckline… that seems to have helped with this one? Thanks for the tip!

Leave a comment